Osteopathic Medicine: Medicine Resources

Creating MyAccess Profile
Video Tutorial
AccessMedicine Rotation Case Study
AccessMedicine(ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, 20e, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, 2e,and many others.

Creating MyAccess Profile
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements. Guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, Terry L. Schwinghammer, PharmD, and Joseph T. DiPiro, PharmD, AccessPharmacy is the pharmacy field’s most trusted website. AccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.

Creating MyAccess Profile
AccessPhysiotherapy provides PT students with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading physical therapy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows physical therapists to brush up on their knowledge or access quick answers as the need arises.

Full text access to 12 journals published by the American Society for Microbiology, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology. Some manuscripts are published up to three months ahead of print. These journals are available on the Hattiesburg campus only.

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. William Carey University coverage includes 48 titles for the last four years.

Video tutorial
Using CINAHL/MeSH Headings
A comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer medicine, and 17 allied health disciplines.

A bibliography of controlled trials identified by contribution to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE® or other bibliographic databases. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. The evidence is displayed in a user friendly format, mixing narrative, numbers and graphics. The target audience for Cochrane Clinical Answers is healthcare practitioners and professionals, and other informed health care decision-makers. Cochrane Clinical Answers have been developed by Cochrane Innovations Ltd. and Wiley Online Library.

Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. Now included in the 4800-plus records are 22 reviews which formerly made up the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.

A bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE® database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.

The F.A. Davis PT Collection on AccessPhysiotherapy is the most comprehensive digital subscription product on the market for educators and physical therapy students. This partnership between F.A. Davis and McGraw-Hill Education brings you a comprehensive online PT resource that covers the entire spectrum of physical therapy—for viewing on any device.

Video tutorials
Quick Reference
Featuring relevant, timely drug information and interactive tools, today’s Facts & Comparisons eAnswers supports pharmacists and other professionals with an updated, crystal-clear user interface featuring common sense navigation and expanded content and tools to make accessing key drug knowledge even easier.

A comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering the health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from industrial/organizational behavior and education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.

Request Lexicomp mobile app access - Currently enrolled WCU School of Pharmacy students and faculty ONLY
Video Tutorials
Provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. GSA scheduled.

MEDLINE Complete Take Away Guide
Video tutorial
Using CINAHL/MeSH Headings
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Many of the most-used medical journals are available with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.

Search Tips
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the MMY is a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments in diverse areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in English, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.

The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

Database contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Over 80 journals are represented and included are book reviews and letters to the editor, as well as articles. Almost all of the APA journals go back to volume 1, issue 1.

Contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and more.

Video tutorials
Contains over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, or full text databases and journals licensed by William Carey University Libraries.

User guide
Electronic books in the fields of medicine, nursing, and allied health. Individual titles may be accessed through the WCU Library catalog or Discovery service.

Built on the widest range of trusted, high-quality, interdisciplinary research, ScienceDirect helps you find answers to your most pressing research questions, stay on top of your field, and gain in-depth insights into trending research topics as you take your next steps in discovery. WCU subscribes to the Health & Life Sciences journal collection.

UpToDate Features and Shortcuts
Training videos
Search UpToDate® to find fast, accurate answers to everyday clinical questions.

UpToDate is ONLY available to Osteopathic Medicine and Pharmacy faculty and students.