This is the "Home" page of the "Citation and Style Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Citation and Style Guides  

Last update: Jul 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.wmcarey.edu/styleguides  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

HomePrint Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide provides information on proper citation using various styles, as well as tips on writing more effectively. 

  Reference Shelf

Off-campus users will be prompted to login with their Indigo portal information.

Problems logging in?

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    Another great collection of dictionaries, quotations and even a crossword solver.
  • Oxford English Dictionary  
    Rating
    Find the origins and definitions for words in current use, and those of the past.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
    Rating
    This vast collection includes bilingual dictionaries, thesauruses and quotations.

Getting Started

Citation is an important part of research writing (see Why Cite?). Proper citation is more than a bibliography at the end of your term paper; it involves the ability to incorporate the research of others into your writing, giving them proper credit for their work, while developing your own ideas and writing style.

For tips on good writing, see the Writing & Grammar page in this guide. You'll find a collection of books available within WCU Libraries, as well as some useful websites.

When using the Library's citation resources, please remember:

  • Many of the Libraries' electronic resources offer formatted citations. Be sure to check them for spelling and punctuation errors before using them in your paper.
  • Cutting and pasting electronically formatted citations into your document is not recommended; occasionally this will interfere with the formatting of the rest of the bibliography. Email these to yourself or put them in a Word document and cut and paste them from there.
  • WCU Libraries houses current editions of the style guides, which are shelved either in Reference or Reserves. Although they cannot leave the library, they can be photocopied and used in-house.
      
     

    Help Us Help You

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this content?
    (1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

    Please provide comments to help improve this page:


    Your email address, so we can get back to you:


    Description

    Loading  Loading content... please wait