- Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, Academic Search Complete is a leading resource for scholarly work supporting high level research in key areas of academic study across multiple disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more. This e-database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals that provide users with access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. The array of disciplines covered by this e-database includes: Accounting, Allied Health, Archaeology, Art, Biology, Chemistry, Communications, Economics, Education, Ethics, Finance, Geography, Geology, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Management, Mathematics, Medicine, Music, Nursing, Pharmacology, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Theatre, Zoology, and much more.
An innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professional with access to more than 65 medical titles from the best minds in medicine. Includes frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, diagnostic and point of care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
- American Society for Microbiology Journals
Full text access to 12 journals published by the American Society for Microbiology, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology. Some manuscripts are published up to three months ahead of print. These journals are available on the Hattiesburg campus only.
- CINAHL Plus w/ Full-Text
A comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer medicine, and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
A bibliography of controlled trials identified by contribution to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE® or other bibliographic databases. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistcally (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numberous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. Now included in the 4800-plus records are 22 reviews which formerly made up the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Cochrane Methodology Register
A bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE® database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. Reviewers at the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, England conduct this appraisal. DARE's abstracts include a description of the systematic reviews of methodology, results, and conclusions. It provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- DynaMed Plus
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point of care. It contains 3,200 clinically organized topics and is updated daily with evidence-based reviews from over 500 medical journals.
- EBSCO's Academic e-Book Collection
This is a collection of EBSCO electronic books. Included is the Academic eBook Collection, which numbers over 97,000 titles, as well as electronic books that have been individually selected to support the William Carey University curriculum.
- Education Research Complete
Comprehensive coverage of scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Provides full text for 1,400 journals and abstracting and indexing for an additional 1,000 titles. Also includes full text for 550+ books and numerous education-related conference proceedings.
Education literature and resources, including bibliographic entries from the Current Index to Journal in Education and over 337,000 full text ERIC reports dating back to 1966.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
A comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering the health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from industrial/organizational behavior and education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
- Health Technology Assessments
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care. In addition to systematic reviews, contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires, and economic evaluations. More than 3,000 descriptive abstracts and nearly 7,000 total records are included, as well as links to summaries, full text, or the website of the research agency. Part of the Cochrane Plus Collection.
- Mango Languages
Online audiovisual training tutorials designed to teach conversational familiarity with 63 foreign languages and cultures - includes Medical Spanish!
- MEDLINE Complete
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Many of the most-used medical journals are available with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Provides information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments, and procedures. The database contains over 6,000 abstracts of quality-assessed economic evaluations and more than 21,000 total records. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Nursing Reference Center
A comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point of care. Offers the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full text documents.
- ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global
This database comprises the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
- ProQuest Research Companion
Online audiovisual training tutorials designed to teach the basics of Information Literacy, including choosing research topics, searching for information, evaluating sources, and avoiding plagiarism. The tutorials are aligned with the Information Literacy standards of the Association of College & Research Libraries of the American Library Association.
Database contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Over 80 journals are represented and included are book reviews and letters to the editor, as well as articles. Almost all of the APA journals go back to volume 1, issue 1.
Contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and more.
Contains over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, or full text databases and journals licensed by William Carey University Libraries.
- R2 Digital Library
Electronic books in the fields of medicine, nursing, and allied health. Individual titles may be accessed through the WCU Library catalog or Discovery service.
- Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
Including all of the full-text content from Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, General Science Full Text and other renowned science content, Science Full-Text Select (H.W. Wilson) offers extensive coverage of scientific research. Coverage includes over 400 full-text journals across the following disciplines: Acoustics, Agriculture, Applied Mathematics, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Botany, Chemistry, Earth Science, Ecology, Entomology, Genetics, Geology, Health Science, Immunology, Information Technology, Microbiology, Physics, Physiology, Science Education, & Zoology.