- Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, Academic Search Complete is a leading resource for scholarly work supporting high level research in key areas of academic study across multiple disciplines by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more. This e-database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals that provide users with access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. The array of disciplines covered by this e-database includes: Accounting, Allied Health, Archaeology, Art, Biology, Chemistry, Communications, Economics, Education, Ethics, Finance, Geography, Geology, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Management, Mathematics, Medicine, Music, Nursing, Pharmacology, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Theatre, Zoology, and much more.
- Access Medicine
An innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professional with access to more than 65 medical titles from the best minds in medicine. Includes frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, diagnostic and point of care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
- America: History and Life with Full Text
America: History and Life with Full Text covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With nearly 290 full-text journals, and indexing for over 1,800 journals dating back to 1895, this e-database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- American Society for Microbiology Journals
Full text access to 12 journals published by the American Society for Microbiology, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology. Some manuscripts are published up to three months ahead of print. These journals are available on the Hattiesburg campus only.
ARTstor is a digital library of over one milion images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. The database provides a set of tools for managing, viewing, and presenting images for research and teaching purposes. Special user accounts are available for faculty; contact Reese Powell (firstname.lastname@example.org or 601.318.6170) to set up an account.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, this database combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA’s online collection of major religion and theology journals. Article citations are provided from 1,677 journals, and full text for more than 285,300 articles and book reviews.
- Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Scholarly, heavily illustrated articles about ancient Israel and other lands and peoples portrayed in the Bible. Full text is provided for eight publications of the Biblical Archaeology Society.
- Business Source Premier
A business research database featuring full text for more than 2,100 journals.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
Published every weekday, the Chronicle is the number one source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The site features the complete contents of the latest issue, daily news and advice columns, thousands of current job listings, and archives of previously published content, discussion forums, and career-building tools.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
A comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer medicine, and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
A bibliography of controlled trials identified by contribution to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE® or other bibliographic databases. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistcally (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numberous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. Now included in the 4800-plus records are 22 reviews which formerly made up the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Cochrane Methodology Register
A bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE® database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
A database with full text access to hundreds of journals and coverage dating as far back as 1915, CMMC is one of the most robust databases available for communication studies.
- Credo Reference
A full text database of over 550 reference titles from a variety of publishers.
- Criminal Justice Abstract with Full Text
Comprehensive content covering all areas of criminal justice. Includes full text for more than 200 magazines and journals, and also includes full text for books and monographs.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. Reviewers at the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, England conduct this appraisal. DARE's abstracts include a description of the systematic reviews of methodology, results, and conclusions. It provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Dead Sea Scrolls
From BrillOnline, this database contains the Hebrew and/or Aramaic text of the manuscripts known as the ‘Dead Sea Scrolls’ complete with English translation and like passages from the ‘Codex Leningrad’. The database is full-text, keyword searchable.
- Dynamed Plus
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point of care. It contains 3,200 clinically organized topics and is updated daily with evidence-based reviews from over 500 medical journals.
- Early English Books Online
A comprehensive full text collection of 69,000+ books published in English from 1473 through 1700, and approximately 22,000 British pamphlets (about 80% of total publication, including 400 periodicals) published between 1640 and 1660. Also includes the original printed versions of royal statutes and proclamations, military, religious, legal, Parliamentary, and other public documents.
- EBSCO's Academic e-Book Collection
This is a collection of EBSCO electronic books. Included is the Academic eBook Collection, which numbers over 97,000 titles, as well as electronic books that have been individually selected to support the William Carey University curriculum.
- Education Research Complete
Comprehensive coverage of scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Provides full text for 1,400 journals and abstracting and indexing for an additional 1,000 titles. Also includes full text for 550+ books and numerous education-related conference proceedings.
- Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) from BrillOnline is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics from BrillOnline offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. This database, which contains over 850 entries and the work of over 400 scholars, features advanced search options, extensive cross-references, and full-text search functionality using the Hebrew character set.
Education literature and resources, including bibliographic entries from the Current Index to Journal in Education and over 337,000 full text ERIC reports dating back to 1966.
- European Views of the Americas 1493-1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Contains more than 32,000 records and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
- Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
A school-age student encyclopedia with full text easy-to-read articles written for kids.
A multidisciplinary database that covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Containing scholarly, government and general-interests titles, it draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 612,000 records, as well as open access full text for more than 9,100 documents.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
A comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering the health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from industrial/organizational behavior and education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
- Health Technology Assessments
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care. In addition to systematic reviews, contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires, and economic evaluations. More than 3,000 descriptive abstracts and nearly 7,000 total records are included, as well as links to summaries, full text, or the website of the research agency. Part of the Cochrane Plus Collection.
- Indian Papers of Colonel Clive & Brigadier-General Carmac
The papers of two leading actors in the East India Company in mid-18th century Bengal from the National Library of Wales.
- Indian Papers of the 4th Earl of Minto
The papers of Gilbert John Elliot-Murr ay-Kynynmound, the 4th Earl of Minto (1845-1914), Viceroy of India between 1905 and 1910, cover a period of dramatic and momentous change in the history of colonial India. Original documents are held in the National Library of Scotland.
- IPA Source
A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Contains over 6,066 texts including 1,092 aria texts.
A multidisciplinary full text collection of more than 1,000 academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and primary sources. Full text for most journal titles starts at volume 1. Many JSTOR titles have a 1 to 5 year rolling embargo, meaning that the most current volumes may not be available. William Carey University has access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection I through X.
- LexisNexis Academic
Contains full text news, business, and legal publications. Deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news and non-English language sources. Also includes primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations, and secondary materials such as legal news or law reviews. Supreme Court cases, codes for all 50 states and territories, all federal laws from 1988 to present, federal regulations, patents from 1971 forward, legal reference materials such as American Jurisprudence, second edition, Ballentine's Law Dicitionary, and Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexing for more than 700 journals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings in the areas of librarianship, information management, and more.
- Literary Reference Center
A full text database that provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literature disciplines and timeframes. Includes more than 35,000 plot summaries, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literature criticism, more than 252,000 author biographies, 50 literary journals, books reviews, poetry, short stories, author interviews, and classic texts.
- Literature Criticism Online
Essays from the Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) series that provide commentary and criticisms on literary works by scholars of the day.
- Loeb Classical Library Online
An exhaustive Greek and Latin library founded by James Loeb over 100-years ago has now been digitized. The digital Loeb Classical Library is a fully searchable, continuously expanding online library of the most important texts in Greek and Latin literature.
- Mango Languages
Online audiovisual training tutorials designed to teach conversational familiarity with 63 foreign languages and cultures - an excellent tool for missions!
- MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular magazines, over 85,000 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, 360 reference books, and an image collection. Contains the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book.
- MEDLINE Complete
MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and provides full text for hundreds of medical journals. Many of the most-used medical journals are available with no embargo to allow users to access the information as soon as it’s published.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the MMY is a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments in diverse areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in English, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.
- Mergent Online
An online database providing financial reports and company descriptions including U.S. Company Data, International Company Data, and D&B Private Company Data. Searches can be performed utilizing company name, company trading symbol, Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code, and the Mergent Industry Code (MIC).
- MLA International Bibliography
A bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Naxos Music Library
The world’s largest online classical music library. It offers streaming access to more than 73,000 CDs with over 1 million tracks. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. In addition to classical music, the library offers jazz, classic pop, and rock music. The contents can be accessed from any computer and may be accessed via iPhone, iPod Touch, and Android apps.
- New Pauly
The English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J. B. Metzler since 1996. It is an authoritative encyclopedia, presenting traditional and new areas of research. Many entries have maps, illustrations, and bibliographic references.
- Newspaper Source
Cover to cover full text for more than 40 U.S. national and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. Also includes selective full text for more than 330 regional newspapers, and full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN International, Fox News, and NPR.
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Provides information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments, and procedures. The database contains over 6,000 abstracts of quality-assessed economic evaluations and more than 21,000 total records. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Nursing Reference Center
A comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point of care. Offers the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full text documents.
- Oxford Art Online
A database of Oxford art reference works, including Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as other specially commissioned articles. Contains biographies, images, encyclopedia and dictionary articles, and essays.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
A biographical database of over 59,000 individuals who have significantly impacted British history and culture.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of the English language, the OED is the accepted authority on the evolution of the language. It traces the use of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,000 years through 3 million quotations. It defines and illustrates how long a word has been used, where it came from, when it first entered the language, and how its meaning has changed over time and around the world. Quotations come from modern and historical texts, from classic literature and specialist periodicals, film scripts, wills, cookery books, and blogs.
- Oxford Music Online
A database of Oxford music reference works, including Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Contains biographies, subject essays, and dictionary terms.
- Oxford Reference Online
A comprehensive resource containing dictionaries and reference titles from a complete subject spectrum.
- Patrologia Latina
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina is a collection of the works of the Church Fathers from Tertulliam in AD 200 to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
- Primary Search
Designed specifically for elementary school use, this database contains the full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines, and it also includes several elementary school age encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Project Muse
A leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Project Muse contains full text scholarly journals from more than 120 publishers.
- ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global
This database comprises the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
- ProQuest Research Companion
Online audiovisual training tutorials designed to teach the basics of Information Literacy, including choosing research topics, searching for information, evaluating sources, and avoiding plagiarism. The tutorials are aligned with the Information Literacy standards of the Association of College & Research Libraries of the American Library Association.
Database contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Over 80 journals are represented and included are book reviews and letters to the editor, as well as articles. Almost all of the APA journals go back to volume 1, issue 1.
Contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and more.
Contains over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, or full text databases and journals licensed by William Carey University Libraries.
- R2 Digital Library
Electronic books in the fields of medicine, nursing, and allied health. Individual titles may be accessed through the WCU Library catalog or Discovery service.
- Reference USA
A database of over 14 million businesses contains company information such as executive title, business type, sales volume, employee size, year established, and more. Standard white pages provide information on over 89 million residents with addresses, phone numbers, and informaiton from most recent census.
- Regional Business News
Full text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center Online
An evidence-based, point-of-care information resource for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists, and sports medicine professionals. Users can access the most current information in their specialty so they can provide the best care to their patients. Contents include clinical reviews, research instruments, information on drugs and drug manufacturers, exercise instruments, patient education topics, and much more.
- RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature features a wealth of content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century. Updated monthly, the database includes coverage of relevant articles from more than 10,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature also includes nearly 850,000 records with over 52,000 new records are added every year.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Contains the full content of the classic multi-volume reference set and is expanded to take full advantage of the web format. Includes encyclopedia articles covering all aspects of the discipline of philosophy and contains links to cross references between articles nad links to other editorially reviewed websites.
- Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
Including all of the full-text content from Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, General Science Full Text and other renowned science content, Science Full-Text Select (H.W. Wilson) offers extensive coverage of scientific research. Coverage includes over 400 full-text journals across the following disciplines: Acoustics, Agriculture, Applied Mathematics, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Botany, Chemistry, Earth Science, Ecology, Entomology, Genetics, Geology, Health Science, Immunology, Information Technology, Microbiology, Physics, Physiology, Science Education, & Zoology.
- Southern Baptist Periodical Index
Cover to cover index of from 30 to 50 periodicals issued each year by historically Southern Baptist Convention-related agencies, institutions, and associations at the national level of organization.
- Teacher Reference Center
Indexing and abstracting for 280 education periodicals.
- Wall Street Journal
The preeminent publication for business news and informaiton on financial markets worldwide. Indexing covers subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Each issue is thoroughly indexed, including top news stories, editorials, editorial cartoons, and letters to the editor from well-known people. In addition to business news, the WSJ provides information on the arts, sports, and popular culture.