- WCU Library Discovery Service
Use the WCU Library Discovery Service as a one-stop-search for books, electronic books, journal articles, and more.
An innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professional with access to more than 65 medical titles from the best minds in medicine. Includes frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, case files, diagnostic and point of care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
- CINAHL With Full Text
A comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Coverage: some full text back to 1937.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
A bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE® or other bibliographic databases. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus. Coverage: Updated quarterly.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. Now included in the 4800-plus records are 22 reviews which formerly made up the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus. Coverage: updated quarterly
- Cochrane Methodology Register
A bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. Reviewers at the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, England conduct this appraisal. DARE's abstracts include a description of the systematic reviews methodology, results and conclusions. It provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
Dynamed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point of care. It contains 3,200 clinically organized topics, and is updated daily with evidence-based reviews from over 500 medical journals.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
A comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering the health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from industrial/organizational behavior and education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
- Health Technology Assessments
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care. In addition to systematic reviews, contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires, and economic evaluations. More than 3,000 descriptive abstracts and nearly 7,000 total records are included, as well as links to summaries, full text, or the website of the research agency. Part of the Cochrane Plus Collection.
- Magill's Medical Guide, 6th Edition
Provides general readers with an authoritative yet accessible reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias and dictionaries for professionals and popular self-help guides.
- MEDLINE With Full Text
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Citations are provided from over 4,800 current biomedical journals, with full text coverage for 1,470 titles. Coverage: Varies, indexing back to 1949 and some full text back to 1965
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the MMY is a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments in diverse areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in English, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. Coverage: From the first edition of the yearbook in 1938 through the present.
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Provides information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments, and procedures. The database contains over 6,000 abstracts of quality-assessed economic evaluations and more than 21,0000 total records. Part of the Cochrane Collection Plus.
Database contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Over 80 journals are represented and included are book reviews and letters to the editor, as well as articles. Almost all of the APA journals go back to volume 1, issue 1.
Contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Covers the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and more.
- R2 Digital Library
Electronic books in the fields of medicine, nursing, and allied health. Individual titles may be access through the WCU Library catalog or Discovery service.
- Sage Premier
Includes full text for more than 560 journals, which can be searched or browsed by discipline. Titles are included for business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Full text is available only back to 1999.
- Science Direct
A leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.